The President of India is pleased to impose a uniform ban on fishing by all fishing vessels in the Indian Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) beyond territorial waters on the East Coast [including West Bengal, Odisha, Andhra Pradesh, Puducherry, Tamil Nadu, Andaman, & Nicobar Islands] and West Coast [including Gujarat, Daman & Diu, Karnataka, Goa, Maharashtra, Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Lakshadweep Islands] as per period mentioned below for conservation and effective management of fishery resources and also for sea safety reasons:

  • East Coast-from 15th April to 14h June 2023 (both days inclusive) (61 days)
  • West Coast-from 1st June to 31st July 2023 (both days inclusive) (61 days)

The traditional non-motorized units shall be exempted from this uniform fishing ban imposed in the Indian EEZ beyond territorial waters.

This issues with the approval of the Competent Authority.

(Dr. Sanjay Pandey)
Deputy Commissioner (Fisheries)