Samudra Report

Keyword Search
 
Issue No:81
  • :0973–1121
  • :June
  • :2019

Samudra Report No.81, June 2019

The Pacific / SSF Guidelines

The Pacific Ways

The geography, histories and cultures of the Pacific island region, and its 14 small island developing states, represent unique challenges and opportunities


This article is by Andrew Song (andrewmsong@gmail.com), WorldFish Center and ARC Centre of Excellence for Coral Reef Studies, James Cook University; Hugh Govan (hgovan@gmail.com), LMMA Network and University of South Pacific; Christopher Arthur (kalnaarthur@gmail.com),Vanuatu Fisheries Department; Rosalie Masu (rmasu@fisheries.gov.sb), Solomon Islands Ministry of Fisheries and Marine Resources; Mele Tauati (mele.tauati@fao.org), FAO Sub-regional Office for the Pacific Islands; Alifereti Tawake (livingwealthsolutions@gmail.com), LMMA Network;Tooreka Teemari (toorekat@fisheries.gov.ki), Kiribati Ministry of Fisheries and Marine Resource Development;Cherie Whippy-Morris (morris_c@usp.ac.fj), Women in Fisheries Network-Fiji; Grace Orirana (g.orirana@cgiar.org), WorldFish Center; and Philippa Cohen (p.cohen@cgiar.org), WorldFish Center


Situated within a vast ocean area of over 28 mn sq km in the western and central Pacific Ocean, the Pacific Islands region consists of 14 independent countries and eight territories. They have a collective population of approximately 11 mn....

Sign up for SAMUDRA Report Table of Contents Alerts