• Home
  • SAMUDRA News Alerts

SAMUDRA News Alerts

48 States pledge to ratify the fishing vessel safety Cape Town Agreement November 07,2019   |  Source: MercoPress

Forty-eight states have signed a public declaration to indicate their determination to ratify the 2012 Cape Town Agreement on fishing vessel safety at a Ministerial Conference held in Torremolinos, Spain, this week.

The Torremolinos Declaration aims to ensure that the 2012 Cape Town Agreement will enter into force by the 10th anniversary of its adoption (October 11, 2022)

The countries that have signed the declaration are: Argentina, Bangladesh, Belgium, Belize, Central African Republic, Chile, China, Congo, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Croatia, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Ecuador, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Germany, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Kiribati, Lebanon, Liberia, Marshall Islands, Mozambique, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Norway, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Republic of Korea, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Spain, Togo, Uganda, United Kingdom and Vanuatu.

The Cape Town Agreement includes mandatory safety measures for fishing vessels of 24 meters (79 foot) in length and over. It covers key parameters such as stability and associated seaworthiness, machinery and electrical installations, life-saving appliances, communications equipment, fire protection and fishing vessel


© 1997 - 2019, MercoPress.

Theme(s): Others.

Post Comment


Select Date:

Select Themes